Organizational structure at Fraunhofer IEM

Organization chart

© Fraunhofer IEM
Organization chart of Fraunhofer IEM (August 2018)

Fraunhofer IEM is managed by Prof. Ansgar Trächtler, Prof. Eric Bodden, and Prof. Roman Dumitrescu. They form the steering committee of Fraunhofer IEM. Prof. Trächtler is the executive director. Prof. Bodden and Prof. Trächtler are also Chairholders at the Heinz Nixdorf Institute of the University of Paderborn. Prof. Dumitrescu holds a W3 professorship at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, and Mathematics of the University of Paderborn.

Fraunhofer IEM is organized in the three research departments Scientific Automation (Prof. A. Trächtler), Product Engineering (Prof. Dumitrescu) and Software Engineering and IT Security (Prof. Bodden), as well as an administrative department (M. Grafe).

The research departments are organized in five research divisions, each led by an experienced head. The research divisions in turn are divided into research groups, each counting with 5-8 scientific staff members. Our senior experts are of a particular significance. They are scientific personnel with longtime professional experience, with most of them holding a doctorate.